Herrington Country

Saturday 12th October

Whilst Becca was swanning off to California on her well-earned jollies, I decided to catch up on another parkrun for the North East Parkrun Challenge. Becca had already done this one herself, so I thought I would tick it off my list too so we could enjoy more parkrun adventures together on her return. Well that didn’t happen because I then went off on my jollies to Australia and New Zealand and then it was December and we were into Christmas party/ I don’t want to do a hungover parkrun season.

When I completed Herrington Country parkrun, it was one of the newest parkruns in the north east. I think I completed number 13. With it being the day of my Nanna’s 90TH Birthday celebrations, I was accompanied by my lovely London cousins to the parkrun, and both of them smashed some pretty amazing times out!

With the beautiful Moylett-Davies girls!

My stats:

  • Time: 26:58
  • Overall position: 104/238
  • Female position: 20th
  • Age category position SW30-34: 2st
  • Age-graded score: 54.88%
Course route

Location: 5/5

Possibly my favourite of parkrun locations now. It has just the most amazing view of Penshaw Monument (admittedly I wanted to stop to take a photo of when I was running!) which I have so many memories of from when I was growing up. It did feel very nostalgic.

I didn’t actually stop mid-run to get this. I can’t even remember where I got this photo from!

I’m not too familiar with bus routes around the area, but this was incredibly easy to get to by car. The SatNav took us straight there, and you park up in a field not far from the start. This also adds the possibility of a quick warm up jog to the start for the more PB-chasing people.

Difficulty: 1.5/5

I couldn’t bring myself to give it a complete 1/5 for difficulty as it does have a small up-hill cross-country section towards the end. But other than that, its relatively flat really. After the small incline, it quickly drops back down for a lovely down-hill sprint finish. The route is a bit of a strange one though, you run down towards a lake, do one large lap and then a slightly shorter version of that large lap, and then run back and finish at the amphitheatre. The map should explain that a little better.

It does feel a little disorientating, but if anything, I think that makes it easier. Not knowing where you are distracts you mentally and then by the time you figure out where you are, you’re pretty much finished the run!

The terrain is a bit mixed, partly concrete path, partly trails, and partly cross-crountry. I think I’d be a bit more tempted to wear my trail shoes for this run next time as I would say it’s primarily trails.

Enjoyability: 5/5

The clue is in my rating – I really loved this parkrun. In terms of route style, the only parkrun I can think of that it is remotely like is Sunderland (Silksworth), but just much less hilly. Therefore, more enjoyable! The views over Penshaw are pretty impressive and with the finish in an Amphitheatre (how many parkruns do you know that finish like that?!), it’s one of a kind!

I don’t think I’ve been to a parkrun where I’ve thought the marshalls weren’t friendly. And this one was no exception. They were all very encouraging and kept us in line with the slightly confusing/disorientating route. The photographer also knows exactly where to take the best views of the runners so that they get the glorious view of the monument behind. Shame there’s nothing he can do about how you look when you’re running though! (I specifically mean me…I couldn’t possibly comment on what other people look like in their running photos!)

The claw is somewhat under control, but it’s not my favourite running photo of me!

Overall experience: 5/5

Herrington Country is definitely up there with my favourite parkruns. Just the scenery alone is spectacular there and the fact that there’s no repetitive laps and silly hills makes it pretty much perfect. I was going to deduct a half mark for the absence of toilet facilities and post-run cafe. But according to their website, they have both. I clearly just need to pay more attention! This is definitely one to go back to once I’ve finished the North East parkrun Challenge.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close